Photogenic or not?

I think we are unphotogenic because we're uncomfortable in front of the camera (im generalizing!), sometimes more candid pics look better because we are more "natural" um.. and we don't know that we're being photographs. But of course some candid pics can be hilarious and... horrible!

I hope this isn't off topic but, I heard that instead of pretending to smile in front of the camera, just think of something really funny and it'll come out naturally

est Answer - Chosen by Asker

I have been a professional photographer for many years--taken tens of thousands of photographs--and this subject is one that I still am working on---there are at least three hundred theories---suffice to say here in this questions implied framework I'll respond with this----photogenics is a very subjective entity---the way a subject appears to one may not be the way they appear to another---and especially when that person is both subject AND viewer--an enormous per centage of people do not like the way they look ---period--so how will they ever be satisfied with a photo of theirself ?? Then you have the folks who think they look marvelous who see a photo and just can't believe that THAT is them---Then you have the thing that drives me mad till this very day---the people who DO look marvelous but who can not be photographed to reflect that---and the people who eye-to-eye appear as somewhat 'normal' that get on set and every single shot is art---shear art------So with your situation---you have got to analyze what is happening here---is this your super critical eye on yourself that will NOT be pleased with ANY result---or is it a look that your looking to produce and need to work for ? Or is it a case of the shot being superb in everyone else's eye and one YOU CANNOT SEE----in any case this will require you to bring others into the fold for their opinions and input eye-to-eye---If I were there I could probably nail it down fairly fast but I'm not--so this is your baby to ro