Fashion Journalism

pointup

living in the sprawl
Reaction score
I'm starting studying journalism and english in college this coming fall. I'm not sure what I want to do beyond writing, but am considering fashion journalism. Considering being hoping I will be talented enough to make it in such an industry..

My question is, is there any kind of education one needs to become a fashion journalist? Or will a degree in journalism do? I'm also planning to attend the writers workshop at Iowa if I can get accepted to earn a BFA in creative writing...Thanks for all your help everyone ^_^:flower:!

hey pointup, it really depends on what type of journalism you're aiming for. Magazines, you'll jsut have to take a ton of unpaid internships anywhere you can. Past that, there's more experienced people on here than myself Newspapers, I can tell you about. I graduated in Dec 2004, and I've been plugging away at the features section of my paper. Basically I have my job (government reporting) and i'm taking on freelance for features. A better way i should have done it is to get a features internship in college and then try and jump into a features section out of college. It's hard to do, but if your'e good, you'll get it. Write a lot for your college paper. if they don't cover fashion, ask them if you can start, i doubt anyone would have a problem with it.

thanks angyl :smile:! My college paper is apparently tough to get in to, and is rated among the top 10 in the nation.. But, I'm determined! I was thinking about applying for sports intern since its the only position opening :lol:.

i've been freelancing as a fashion journalist for quite some years -i'm actually thinking some offers to start writing again- only thing i have to do is to know how to built a phrase, to know what i'm writing about, to propose fresh ideas and to give my articles on time.. as far as this works nobody really cares about degrees